Other Grants and Awards

In addition to donor-advised and Community Grants, we make the following awards:

Elizabeth Schultz Environmental Fund Grants

These grants support local efforts to preserve and understand nature. The annual deadline is on or near October 1. Learn more.

LiveWell Community Wellness Grants

These grants support LiveWell Douglas County’s efforts to improve nutrition and increase physical activity community-wide, with an emphasis on children 18 and under. The annual deadline is on or near October 15. Learn more.

Mary & Wint Winter, Jr. Family Donor-advised Fund Grant Program

These grants support projects and programs dedicated to making a meaningful difference in the lives of at-risk and vulnerable populations with an emphasis on at-risk and vulnerable children and families, particularly in the designated geographic areas of Douglas County, Franklin County and Johnson County in Kansas and in Taos County, New Mexico. Applications must be complete and filed not later than 5:00 p.m. on November 1 of each year.  Learn more.

Momentum Grants

These grants fuel projects and programs that help people experiencing poverty reach their potential. The 2020 application process will open on March 13th and applications will be due by 5:00PM on April 27thLearn more about new guidelines due to the COVID-19 Crisis.

Mighty Families by Adoption

These grants help couples with the cost of infant domestic adoption. The spring grant application process is closed. Learn more.

Jim Carr Memorial Fund

This fund was established in memory of Jim Carr, a Lawrence, KS firefighter. For more information and an application form, contact Lori Trenholm, Director of Community Investment.

Dr. Jeremy A. Matchett Excellence in Pharmacy Award

The Dr. Jeremy A. Matchett Excellence in Pharmacy Award was established in 2005 in memory of Dr. Matchett, a longtime University of Kansas (KU) School of Pharmacy faculty member. The award is for at least $2,000 to one or more students and is used for the student’s P3 academic year. In addition to teaching at KU for over 30 years, Dr. Matchett was passionate about community, entrepreneurship, and innovation in pharmacy practice. The KU Pharmacy School solicits nominations and decides on awardees.

To access the scholarship and review eligibility requirements, please click here and select Create New Account.

Anna K. and Lester E. Hey Scholarship

This scholarship is given annually to a well-rounded, motivated Baldwin High School senior who plans to continue study at a community college, technical school, college or university. Selection is based on the student’s application, work history, leadership and activities, and a teacher recommendation. Applications are available at Baldwin High School. Teachers and administrators pick the awardees annually.


Lori Trenholm

Contact Lori Trenholm

Director of Community Investment


Contact Lori

Submit a Grant Application

Login to our Grants Center to work on a grant application.

Submit Application

Submit a Grant Report

Login to our Grants Center to work on a grant follow-up report.

Submit Report

Douglas County Community Foundation
900 Massachusetts, Suite 406
Lawrence, KS 66044
Phone: 785-843-8727
Fax: 785-843-8735